Four autonomous governments sign ‘Mediterranean Declaration on Climate Change’

Valencian President Ximo Puig with Greenpeace activists. Photo: El País
Share now:

• Catalonia, Valencia, Balearics & Andalusia unite to protect Mediterranean

• Murcia region expected to sign onto pact to stop coastal waters degradation

The governments of four of Spain’s autonomous communities along the Mediterranean Sea have signed a joint declaration calling for coordination of actions at the local, national and European levels to combat climate change.

Called the “Mediterranean Declaration on Climate Change,” the document has been signed by the regional of Catalonia, Valencia, the Balearic Islands and Andalusia, with the autonomous region of Murcia also expected to lend its name to the document.

The joint was presented in Valencia on Nov. 7 during two days of activities focused on the issue of climate change organized by the Valencian government in the run-up to the global climate change conference that will take place in Paris from Nov. 30-Dec. 11.

The Valencia region’s Socialist party President, Ximo Puig, said on presenting the declaration that “the biggest debt we all face today, beyond the economic (debt), is the one we have with the environment.” The Declaration commits the Spanish Mediterranean regional governments to seeking lasting solutions through joint initiatives to combat the environmental degradation that contributes to climate change.

Read the Full Story in Spanish at El País >>

Share now: