POLITIFILE :: Foro Asturias ~ Asturias Forum

Share now:

• Foro Asturias ~ Asturias Forum •

Foro Asturias is a centre-right political party in Spain’s northern region of Asturias that was formed in 2011 by former Partido Popular (PP) minister Francisco Álvarez-Cascos, who left the PP after a dispute over Asturian regional elections that year.

The party won 16 seats in the Asturian parliament in the 2011 regional elections, making it the largest party in the Asturias assembly, and Álvarez-Cascos was subsequently elected president of the region.

In 2015, Álvarez-Cascos resigned as party leader and did not stand again in regional elections that year. The current Foro Asturias president is Carmen Moriyón, former mayor of the regional capital, Gijón.

Since 2011, Asturias Forum has run in national elections in Spain in coalition with the PP, winning one seat in Spain’s 350 member Congress in 2011, 2015 and 2016 general elections, winning 35.3 percent of the regional vote share that year.

In April 2019, the party’s share of the vote was halved to 17.9 percent and it lost is sole seat in Spain’s 350-member Congress of Deputies, but managed to come back in the 10th November 2019 general election to win 128,698 votes for 23.2 percent of the regional vote, recovering its one congressional seat

You can find out more about Foro Asturias at the following links:

Updated as of 12/2019

Check out more news from Spain about:
Animal WelfareCorruption/Transparency DiscriminationEducationElectionsEnvironment & Sustainability Fair Trade & Development AidHealthcareHistorical MemoryHousing & HomelessnessHuman RightsLabour & Unemployment LGBT+ Peace & War PoliticsPoverty Refugees & Migration Technology & Social EnterpriseWomen’s Rights

Creative Commons License
All images at ProgressiveSpain.com are the copyright of their respective authors/owners and are reproduced here for non-commercial, journalistic purposes in accordance with Fair Use doctrine. All other content is Copyright © 2015-2019 ProgressiveSpain.com and is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Share now: